Bring it on: One Lovely Blog Award

Thanks a million to Samir who nominated 85 Degrees for the One Lovely Blog Award. Honestly, I was thinking that it was me and my yo-yo (pun intended) stories in a community full of interesting, creative, and well-educated people. Anyway, it’s an honour. I encourage you all to visit the very friendly and inspirational Samir at Cecile Writers. Together with his writer friends, they promote intercultural writing and are eager to seek out new talents. Currently they run an online magazine where writers in such category can get their work(s) published.  I see them publishing some of my works in the near future. Before I pass on the torch…

THE RULES:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. List seven random things about yourself.
  3. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award

SEVEN RANDOM THINGS ABOUT UZOMA:

  1. Highlife. Aside from the western forms of music like rock, jazz, pop, soul, and so on (most of which I enjoy a lot), this genre speaks differently to me because it takes me straight to my root.
  2. I have an Alsatian dog. His name is Jazz.
  3. Most of my stories come at odd hours. I usually like to write them down early in morning.
  4. Soccer! How can I forget the wonderful game? My favourite football team is Manchester United. And I still miss CR-7.
  5. If wishes were like airplanes, the world will be full of happy people.
  6. I find new delicacies irresistible.
  7. Movies—season movies…I just can’t get enough of them! Some at the top (for me)  are Desperate Housewives, Prison Break, and 24.

Now, it’s hard to nominate other fifteen people because there are many beautiful blogs out there with quality posts. To keep my brain from imploding, I’ve decided to go along with three things that interest me the most—arts, writing, and photography. So…

THE NOMINATIONS:

  1. Naandika
  2. Charleszero1
  3. Sue ann’s balcony
  4. Marymyers
  5. Sencvzjawa
  6. DeeKooDee stories
  7. Violet gallery
  8. Hangargallery
  9. Siren and Muses
  10. ExiledProspero
  11. Professionsforpeace
  12. Carolineskanne
  13. MA
  14. Feminineocean
  15. WM

 

ETA: My inability to pass on the torch to new nominees (as some of the listed bloggers have declined receiving the award) will linger for quite a while. Maybe into the New Year because of a busy schedule ahead. Thank you.

34 thoughts on “Bring it on: One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks so much for the nomination. I am having serious eye issues and might not even be abel to post for a while and this is really uplifting.

    I have been depressed because I am afraid of going blind but this has uplifted my spirits

    1. PS: I cant write or nominate anyone due to my eye problem… writing these comments is hard, tears are running down… when i feel better i will

      1. Mo, I’m so sorry. I wish you the best and hope to see you blog again in no time. In the mean time, I have no intention of passing it on to someone else. You inspire me a lot and this is one of the many ways to say “I appreciate you, my African friend.” You take all the time you need. It’s not compulsory you pass the torch quickly.

        You are and will always be in my prayers.

    1. It amazes me how you’re able to communicate in Polish and English. Reading your blog brings a wonderful life from far away to my home. Thanks and you really deserve it 😉

  2. Thank you so much, Uzoma! I am so happy you thought of me in your nominations. It was nice learning 7 random things about you. You are a wonderful person and learning more about you, besides what you write in your stories, is a blessing! 😀

  3. Congratulations to you Uzoma! You indeed have a lovely blog 🙂 I really enjoyed the list of things about yourself too. I love that your dog’s name is Jazz! And the fact that you enjoy my humble blog enough to share it in your list of nominees is delightful to me. I cannot thank you enough! Happy smiles of gratitude to you 😀

    1. Sure thing, I’m touched by your writings (though I’m not American), especially about war, those veterans alive and why the world needs peace. Here we’ve had one civil war and it was not just good. Imagine a war between countries–the lives, properties, livelihoods that will be lost.

      Um…my dog? It was given to me by a Scot four years ago as a birthday gift. Then, Jazz was a few months old 🙂 Thanks for the congratulatory remark.

      1. Great reply, and I wanted to say thank you for understanding my posts about remembering the military lately run with the undercurrent of why the world needs peace. Jazz came to you as a gift? Wow. My dog was rescued by an organization and adopted by me when she was 2 years old. You had the fun (and shoe-chewing!) of the puppy stage. Good for you to be a dog owner. They add so much to our lives. Jazz is lucky to be with you. Cheers!

        1. Oh that’s great! That means we also have something else in common aside blogging! Something wonderful! I love dogs and you need to see the ear to ear grin on my face as I read how you got yours. What a sweet story in the end. Yes, Jazz started as a naughty pup–always thinking the world was his and his alone. He would make a mess of things (one of my documents at some point), my clothes, and even his food! On the bright side, he’s so much fun to have around. Now he’s a big and with canine teeth and paws reminding me to respect myself at times. LOL. So what’s your dog’s name?

          Thinking about wars or watching the news about the one’s currently unfolding in places like the Middle East, Sudan, etc just gives me bad dreams. Yes, I admire soldiers in their full gears, but I don’t like the wars–no matter who is right or wrong. So coming across you blog has touched me in a special way. And the name of your blog is quite befitting. Please keep posting. The world is counting on you

          1. You make me smile ear to ear too! My adopted 4-legged ‘child’ is called Nikki and she is work and is worth every second of it! Yes I too have bad dreams about wars, and pray for a time soon without war. May we live in peace, as the brothers and sisters we all are. You are a shining light. Thank you for shining into my life!

            1. Oh that’s a sweet name for a girlie-doggie. It’s trendy as well. PFP, your blog is worth reading. I should say that I’m the happier person as your blog points me to ways I can help change the words. Thanks for bringing in the light into my life as well.

  4. Thank you for the nomination, Uzo. I am really useless at receiving awards; however, I really do appreciate the fact that you thought about me and the jewel-bright archipelago in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean called Bermuda. I was also happy to learn that you have a dog. Just this little detail tells me quite a lot about you, the thoughtful, unassuming person behind the pen–and Jazz is such a brilliant, uplifting name. I am looking forward to reading more of your prose. It has a very human quality to it, and I find the characters to be colorful and passionate. Please continue with your writing. Your stories deserve to be heard.

    1. Yours as well! You have a way with words. As a matter of fact, I will not be able to journey round the world in my life time, so I grateful to all who bring life from other sides of the globe to me. The Internet is my window. Luckily, I’m now blogging as well. I get the chance to meet many people from different place (you, very much in the pic). So yes, I proud to nominate you. And you deserve the award and more!

  5. I add my heartfelt thanks for your nomination, it’s my first and I hope I’ll do it justice. It’ll take me a couple of days to do my Award post – have to do my weekly and we’re going out of town. So good learning about you and some of the other bloggers you nominated. I look forward to checking out their blogs and continuing to read your wonderful creative writing.

    1. Thank you, Feminineocean. I wish to learn more about life in the Middle East. I used to have a penpal who lived in Beirut. She said she’d like to become a journalist someday. It’s been years since we’ve exchange missives.

      Your blog deserves the award. You’re a good writer as well. It’s a pleasure to read poems written from your perspective. I’m blessed to meet you. So you take your time. You need not be in a haste to pass on the torch. Mine took almost a month to do.

      1. My name Rigzen Chomo is Tibetan (read my About). I live in the Hopi nation (Native Americans) – in Arizona. So, I really don’t know much about life in the Middle East. But, do write on occasion about Tibetan Buddhism and the Hopi nation. Receiving your compliments on my writing makes me feel good as you are a wonderful writer. And thanks for letting me know I can take time on the award.

        1. Yes, this is purely my fault. What a mistaken identity. I’ve already read your ‘about’ but still believe you deserve the award. Honestly, I didn’t know how that part (Middle East) flew in. I guess it was because I was watching the news as of the time I was typing. Please accept my apologies for the mistaken identity. Once again, congrats on your nomination.

    1. I know I owe you a lot of gratitude. You’re the first to place a comment on my blog. And you still do. Thank you so much for the well wishes. Of course, you do have one lovely blog as well.

  6. Desperate housewives, prison break, 24? My all time favorite shows!

    But grey’s anatomy is my only addition to d list.

    Hoping to write a series one day too.

  7. Desperate housewives, prison break, 24? My all time favorite shows!

    But grey’s anatomy is my only addition to d list.

    Hoping to write a series one day too.
    Congrats on ur award

    1. Yeah, Grey’s Anatomy did it for me as well. Season movies are everywhere now…some very entertaining as the ones I mentioned. The Unit–how did I forget it as well?

      Anyway, I look forward to reading your Seasonal someday. You have the talent for it.

Your thoughts matter

