Believe (THEME ONE OUT OF FIVE FOR 2013)

th (2)

 

 

 

 

 

While banger boys and gun owners
light the night sky with fiery tales,
the bells are tolling . With them my
yearnings unborn cling to the dying year.
I watch as they ferry on sacrificial
smoke to distant shores.

Loud echoes crack the still air
and through the early morn
they evoke a new spirit. While the bell-sounds
of yesterday are now fading, a year is born–hope
for what can still be gained. Like a child
learning to walk, my dreams must start all over
even though they may Β fail.

For I still believe.

 

 

Happy New Year to you all my dear friends.

Well, New Year’s eve around here was fun as young boys lit up a lot of bangers. And for those of us who had guns (licensed), a couple of shots fired into the air said goodbye to 2012 and ushered in 2013. Oh…we (the guys) stage a drinking competition. I checked on the winner today and he’s still in bed. My! Too much alcohol in the poor guy’s system. Did I participate? Well, I… πŸ˜€

So I have five themes I intend to write about this month (lamps for 2013). IΒ will like to channel my energy to each of them daily. They are: Β 

  1. Believe
  2. Aspire
  3. Love
  4. Peace
  5. Devotion
35 thoughts on “Believe (THEME ONE OUT OF FIVE FOR 2013)

    1. Honestly, I didn’t know about it. Perhaps the digit ‘three’ with its curved look led them (Chinese) to think so. LOL I appreciate the info. And for the snake? Arrgh! Not my favorite either. A few years back, a friend thought it was nice to get a tattoo of the boa, but I vehemently told him that I was against it because it made him lesser than a man himself.

      I echo your words of life and positivity. Remain blessed, Ronnie πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you so much, Wanda. Yeah, I found the pic somewhere on the Web (unfortunately lost the link) and considered it apt for the write. Once again, best wishes of the New Year to you! Hope you had fun all the way.

    1. Thank you! The themes, I believe, will help me in different ways if I remain diligent and determined. Glad you enjoyed the poem. May blessings shower down upon you like rain.

  1. The King has spoken, I’d been anticipating your next post and I’m glad you exceeded my expectation! The poem is a blast! ”I watch as they ferry on sacrificial
    smoke to distant shores” Beautiful, I love it.
    May the year bring lots of joy to your soul!!!

    1. Haha… *steadies the crown* your words are so uplifting! Since I still have my mojo, I decided to start the year with a short poem. And I am happy you approved it:)

      Thanks for the wishes. And I look forward to seeing the you achieve great things this year.

  2. Happy 2013, Uzoma.. In a year to believe, be brave to aspire and be different with in the variables of love, where they set free in peace each opportunity to share life, that in which devotion dwells with the kind of heart..

    A beautiful set of themes for the year, and words for the first day, waiting to see what follows… Always worth the wait!

    1. OMG! I ABSOLUTELY love how you fused these β€œthemes”! Can I incorporate the line into my next theme post?

      I must say that it always a pleasure to read your posts as well. You have a unique voice which I find quite appealing. Best wish to you too, Sean.

      1. Thanks, Uzoma… Use the line how ever it works best for you, as many people will have slightly different perspectives on the relationships between the themes and words. Plus there are also options for alternative words, maybe explore the relationships and see what comes to light between the original and options.

        Thanks again, I think I tend write in a little bit of a raw state, that does not have a fixed address, if that makes sense, kind of whatever mood or emotion that are playing an influence on a topic/theme. Cheers, Uzoma.

        1. Thanks for the green light. I intend to use it as a prelude to either my second or third theme post. As a chunk, it serves the purpose.

          Writing styles for blogs? We all have our methods. As writers, it’s important we get that thought/idea out before it follows racing winds out of our minds. When penned and in that raw state, stories/a basic story comes out afterwards. Fresh and original. Keep the fire burning πŸ˜€

    1. Same to you, Sage. What more can I ask for when the likes of you enjoyed my poem. Thanks a heap for commenting πŸ™‚

      Hope your novel project is coming along quite well.

  3. Happy New Year, Uzo. I hope you have a productive year (literarily and otherwise). Belief is one of those thin threads that dangle innocently in our often limited purview.

    1. Haha. You’re absolutely right, Sirena. It’s such a wonderful feeling and I’m glad my efforts are not in vain. Thanks for being very supportive! πŸ™‚

Your thoughts matter

