One Week, One Proverb

Case 18:

A woman who has experienced frequent infant mortality hardly allows her baby child to sleep.

african-american-baby-boy_2     pic credit: free.bridal-shower-themes.com

 

Insight/Background Story:

No one prays for bad luck. But then, it’s a “perfect” stalker and sometimes crashes a happy story.

For my friend Umunna and his wife, Ify, their cross may have been a childless marriage before the windows of Heaven opened and they were finally blessed with a beautiful boy. Three weeks after his birth, they invited me and a couple of friends to his naming ceremony. They’d named him Goodwill.

A year later, Goodwill was struck by a series of illnesses including malaria. As a woman who had earlier experienced stillbirth, Ify was restless, hopeless. There were nights she would ring me, crying over the phone that her little one was on the verge of slipping away from her. I would hurry over and spend the night with them, praying for his survival.

 

Interpretation/Conclusion:

Today, as I listen to Goodwill talk happily about his friends in Primary One, I can only smile with gratitude in my heart for answered prayers.

In life, it’s always good to be passionate about the things we love and care about. With a healthy dose of hope and prayer, we will always surmount the pain and set back.

43 thoughts on “One Week, One Proverb

  1. Such a beautiful story, I had tears in my eyes while reading it, just like his name, Goodwil will know good all his life, my love to him and his beautiful family! Thanks for sharing brother!
    🙂 🙂

  2. I was afraid of the outcome as I came to the end. It truly was a relief to find a happy ending. I’m glad for GoodWill and his parents.

    This reminded me of a story my mother once told us. In her culture apparently they never name their sons the same last name if they are many. She explained they believe that the devil causes the death of the sons when a man is blessed with many sons. So they give them different last names to confuse the devil lol.

    1. Me too…I’m happy for Goodwill and his parents.

      Wow! wow! What an optimistic path to ensure that one’s male offspring survive. Thanks for sharing the story with me. Here, mother though a practicing Christian says her mother (now late) would lie me and my immediate elder brother on our bellies whenever we were about to sleep. She believed that little babies, especially males are poisoned by the devil when they sleep with their faces up. Now I rarely lie facing the ceiling. This has nothing to do with superstition. Over the years, it has become a sleeping position for me. Isn’t that funny? 😆

      1. Ha ha yes that is quite something. Isn’t it odd that despite our religious beliefs we still in some way follow our superstitious beliefs? My family too is Christian in practice but we generally comply by cultural beliefs as well-not very strongly but we do. It is better to be safe than sorry I guess.

        1. I echo you thoughts completely! Not only do we hold dear to some of these things, there are festivals that are die hard around here.

          I think it’s more of a cultural thing than being superstitious. Abiding by some of these practices have really paid off. It’s a part of who we are…it’s in our DNA.

  3. Nothing is more precious to a parent than their chid, I have slept many a night peacefully trusting God and his angels to keep them safe. This story reminded me not to take my grace for granted. In the words of St. Paul, ‘keep praying unceasingly’. Thank you for my reality check, God bless Uzo!

    1. Children are like precious jewels, the pride of every parent–my bible tells me so. And all through those “dark” months, we prayed.

      Well, I’m not much of a prayer warrior, but we prayed. Ify poured out her heart in prayer! Haha, today, I think women are more prayerful than their male counterparts. But I do my best to pray–like St. Paul said.

      God bless you too, Antonia.

  4. What a beautiful touching story, thank you for sharing. I’m so happy for Goodwill and his family. Prays were truly answered.

  5. What a wonderful message… to fight for the things we care about. And it’s usually the simplest things… a beautiful post, Uzoma. Always a pleasure to come by your space here. 🙂 Take care and keep spreading the joy.

  6. I too was happy to read the good outcome for Goodwill and his parents. 🙂 Wonderful story Uzo.

    This reminded me of my concerns for my own son. The poor wee soul barely got any sleep when he first came home from the hospital because I’d continually wake him up just to make sure he was alright. 🙂

  7. Beautiful! Thanks. I think I am sometimes that mother, having experienced still birth and infant illness myself, I am constantly anxious about the well being of my children.
    Bless your friends, they are lucky to have their little boy to treasure.

    1. Oh, I’m so sorry, Meg. I’m not a woman but I can certainly feel the pain associated with the news of stillbirth. I’m so glad things have been bright after that. Like every good mother, your concern and care is a priceless gift.

      I will pay your kind message across to them.

  8. This is an amazingly inspiring post Uzoma. All of it is beautiful, and especially how you conclude… I always enjoy a healthy dose of hope and prayer – and with this anyone of us can overcome heartbreak and pain. Bless your heart for all the love and kindness you share in our world. Namaste. Gina

    1. O thank you, Gina! I know sometimes I can fret so much. So I always ask the Lord to give me faith–strong faith–and courage in the face of adversity. We really need a healthy dose of hope and prayer…haha.

      Have a wonderful weekend!

Your thoughts matter

