LET’S DO IT “RAMBO” STYLE?

Am I going to talk about Rambo, the main character in David Morrell’s novel First Blood, which was made popular in three films in the ’80s? No. But because I’m returning to do this (type of) post once again, I feel so much like Sylvester Stallone (Rambo) whose uncanny edge throughout the movie trilogy has made him one of my all-time movie heroes.

first_blood_photo

pic credit (Stallone as Rambo): oneguyrambling.com

Enough of him for now…

Awards–yeah, that’s what I really want to talk about.

I’ve been nominated by Samir and then Whitney for The Liebster Blog Award. They are a wonderful bunch. Take a trip to their respective blogs and you’ll be glad you did. Thanks a heap Samir and Whitney for nominating me.

LIEBSTER BLOG AWARD

liebster-blog-award

The Rules:

  1. Post the award image on your blog. There are several varieties. Google them and find the one you like the most.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions asked by the person/people who nominated you.
  4. Make up 11 questions for those to be nominated.
  5. Nominate 11 people to receive the award. They should have fewer than 200 followers on their blog.
  6. If you’re nominated, your name and/or link will appear at the bottom of this post.

11 Facts About Me:

  1. I love the game of Scrabble a lot. And I’ve won a big-money competition in that regard lately.
  2. I love the smell of the air immediately after a cold, long rain. It’s so refreshing!
  3. I don’t like the harmattan season.
  4. Music. Highlife music takes me to a different place entirely. It’s a gift to W. Africa.
  5. I want to learn how to speak Hausa and after that Swahili.
  6. I usually write with my right hand. But can also do so with my left…and it’s legible too.
  7. I still watch a lot of cartoons and can’t do without my PS3!
  8. Biscuits–I’m addicted.
  9. My favorite time of the day is very early in the morning for all the right reasons.
  10. I’ll get my dog friend a partner once I publish my first book. Well, that’s more like a promise 😀 In the meantime, he can woo those around him.
  11. I still have most of my childhood toys and comics with me.

My answers to Samir’s 11 questions:

  1. Do you prefer literature or entertainment fiction? Entertainment fiction.
  2. Introvert or Extrovert? Well, I’m not Sparky Sanguine. But I surely enjoy the company of people—even strangers. And I can start a conversation and keep it alive.
  3. If you could promote (and succeed) in one cause, what would it be? That’s a pretty tough one. Let’s see…it should be my colorless soap project.
  4. Which writer’s books can’t you stand (please be honest)? I’ve not come across any, sorry.
  5. Movies or books? Movies!!!! I love to see how each character acts, the background, and the special effects if need be.
  6. What’s your favourite cuisine? Traditional? That should be egusi soup with lots of stockfish and meat to go with hot pounded yam! Can you beat that? Western? Sorry, I’m unable to narrow the list to anyone in particular.
  7. Can you tell the most embarrassing that ever happened to you? Unable to answer the “call of nature” inside a cramped bus. I messed up my trousers on that hot afternoon and as a result, became the object of laughter for other passenger on board! Hey, it wasn’t my fault. Blame it on the porridge beans.
  8. Dreamer or realist? Dreamer. I love being flexible.
  9. Who inspires you? My mum. She’s just terrifikkk!
  10. Favorite Sport? Futbol!
  11. The perfect Saturday night is …when the night is purple and Yanni is playing in background.

 My answers to Whitney’s 11 questions:

  1. What’s your most favorite place in the whole world and why? The beach. It’s a peaceful and romantic environment.
  2. If you had five million dollars what would you do with it? I’ll erect a building dedicated to world peace and anti-terrorism.
  3. What’s one beauty or hygiene product that you absolutely can’t live without? Definitely my Dolce & Gabbana men’s perfume.
  4. If you could have any pet, what would it be? I have an Alsatian. His name is Jazz.
  5. What is your favorite food dish, and do you prepare it yourself or do you have to go somewhere else to chow down? Egusi soup with lots of stock fish and meat to go with hot pounded yam! If I’m less busy, I can prepare the soup.
  6. If you could change or implement any policy, what would it be and why? Countries will be completely open to the world about their nuclear enrichment program.
  7. Who is your biggest role model and why? Mahatma Gandhi. He’s selfless and people-oriented.
  8. What is your favorite holiday and what traditions do you have for this day? Christmas. Iti Mmanwu (Masquerade dancing)
  9. If you won a trip to walk on the moon, would you go? Absolutely yes. I want to see my home (Earth) from many miles out.
  10. What is your biggest fear? Fear itself.
  11. If you could speak and write in any language what would it be? Spanish (though I can write and speak some bit of it now)! Oh God, I just love how their men and women talk! It’s so sexy, so romantic!

~~~~~~~~

My 11 questions for my nominees:

  1. Science, religion or both?
  2. One past hero you wish to meet?
  3. One thing you wish was never invented?
  4. Are you left-handed?
  5. Your childhood cartoon hero/heroine?
  6. Anger management: what’s your advice?
  7. Does a book’s cover really matter to you, yes or no?
  8. Why (refer to question 7)?
  9. Favourite line in your national anthem (be patriotic)?
  10. Do you believe in the existence of angels and demons?
  11. Where do you fall in the zodiac diagram?

My Nominees:

THE VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD

Many thanks to Val and then Catherine for nominating me for The Very Inspiring Award. Please, take a trip to their respective blog and you’ll be super happy you did. I’m addict–their stuffs are super-sonic!

 very-inspirational-blogger

The Rules:

  1. Display the award logo
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you
  3. State 7 things about yourself
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them

Seven Random Things About Uzoma

Click here for something new…

My Nominees:

Now Rambo shouldn’t have stopped at just only three films:( Well, that’s how I feel about it…

Happy blogging.

43 thoughts on “LET’S DO IT “RAMBO” STYLE?

  1. I love the fact you have been nominated for these…. No better person. Congratulations! Keep writing and giving us your unique thoughts that give me hope for tomorrow…. 🙂

  2. Congratulations to you, multitalented Uzoma. And I love hearing about you, your interests and life in the answers to those questions! I also want to thank you heartily and very humbly for nominating me. You’ve beamed much sunshine and inspiration onto this very dark, cold, wet week. I am deeply touched and honored. Now, off to start working on some answers to those tough questions! Cheers….

    1. Awww, I can’t wait to know the things that interests you too, Sirena. You poems are so relevant and effective. Every visit to your space is a wonder to embrace.

      Hope clear weather comes you way pretty soon.

  3. U deserve much more! You are a very talented and a good soul, I am honoured to have made your acquaintance. Each of your posts, your stories they resonate with so much depth, emotions and eloquence, it is a privilege to be able to enjoy them. Thank you for spreading the love and light!
    God bless & thank you for nomination me! It means so much! Thank you for the honour and I am deeply grateful.

    1. It’s such a big blessing to meet a nice, lovely, and devoted Christian like you! You positive feedback is joy to read–just like each of your blog post. I pray there is life to enjoy God’s goodness and to meet more people like you!

      You deserve these awards. More will come definitely 🙂

      1. Aww! you say the nicest things…. Like the lord says, good fruit can be found on good trees and you Sir are a good God fearing soul, hence only good comes out of your storehouse of goodness, blessing, encouragement, praises….. awards! 🙂
        God bless and I pray that you live long ( & happy!) and continue to spread the goodness that is you!

    1. Ina wuni? I never knew you could speak Hausa! 😀 Sure, why not…I relish starting Hausa 101 with you. Because of my nasal problem, the harmattan season now poses some problem when it comes to breathing

  4. Used to love Rambo, but now you couldn’t pay me to watch any of his films. 🙂 He didn’t do anything to upset me, I just can’t watch those films anymore.

    Congratulations on the awards Uzo. 🙂

  5. uzoma. thank you. once means a very lot. twice has me blushing! 😉 but seriously. i respect your way with words and so i want you to know it is meaningful to me. i love the personal of your answers. AND, i’m looking forward to visiting the blogs you listed. again. thank you. xoxo –kris

    p.s. grew up on rambo!! was delighted by the expendables movies because they were such a flashback to my childhood action heroes! i grinned the whole time. teehee. 🙂

    1. OMG! Rambo and then The Expendables? My! We’re kindred spirits then! 😀 Those movies still resonate in my mind 😀

      Kris, you sure deserve these awards. Please keep blogging for us all 😀 I bet you’ll enjoy the trip to the sites I mentioned alongside yours.

  6. Uzo, my friend
    You did it amazingly. 😀 I loved the answers. And well, yeah, a big thank you for the kindness and nominating. You’re too genuine and honest. Ye rock. \m/

    1. Thank you so much, Lauren. Glad you found those bits interesting 🙂

      Have a wonderful weekend and may the week ahead bring more blessings.

        1. Aw, that’s so sweet of you! Now I have more than one way to contact you. I’d like finish up that work, so I can send it over to you. It’s a poem I intend to write both in Hausa and English. Tomorrow I will contact you via email.

Your thoughts matter

