Tourniquet

Bronze Figurative Sculpture of Man in Struggle
Bronze Figurative Sculpture of Man in Struggle

Look at me:
I’m half man,
half a heart,
the other part
is reeling
on the floor with laughter
while I try to give reason
to what’s left of me to fight.

This pain;
it’s one of the many stings that returns…
Legion that pries me open and rapes my senses
and burns me in agonizing bits

I’m praying,
I’m bleeding
I’m pouring ruby-red regret
on this dying self
I’m screaming, hoarse and untamed,
till they reach the heights above–or if they will

Can You hear me?
Or do You now count me
among the lost and forgotten…
Exiles,
banished to walk
this metal hell of a road?

My God
My tourniquet
let me drink from your salvation’s pool,
to cast upon your white doors
the reflection of a battered soul
In need of the grave,
I dare to close
these misted eyes

55 thoughts on “Tourniquet

  1. My blogging brother, a beautiful expression of the emotions that tear at the human soul! The very joy and pain of life, itself! Sublime and violent, all at the same time. As always, I am awed by the majesty of your words. Much love and hugs!

    1. As always, your feedback comes in exquisite fashion–always leaving me with a big smile and courage in my heart that I can do more.

      Yes, pain, like love, is a universal feeling. It breaks and haunts the soul.

      Many thanks for commenting.

  2. Great poem, Uzoma. Your words touches the soul, and though this one deals with pain, I can’t help but sit back, read again, and admire the words.

    I wish I could express myself like you do in poetry.

    Be strong, bro.

    1. Hello KayKay. I’m happy you enjoyed this one, seeing the beauty beyond the gloom. Writing poems is not my forte, but I’m trying to learn more about it whenever I can.

      As always, thanks for your relentless support 🙂

  3. What a powerful, beautiful, wrenching piece this is, dear friend. A vivid and raw cri de coeur. Thank you for sharing your art and your heart, Uzoma. I send you a strong positive vibe! Peace….

    1. Haha…With open arms, I receive your positive vibe!! That’s so nice of you, Sirena. I’m happy you considered the writing beautifully handled.

  4. The intensity of your words left my heart splintered, anguishing over the source of such pain and wishing I could help…Sending love and admiration because, THIS, I can do!!

    1. Heaven knows I marvel at your writings, especially your poems. You sure have a way with words. So, knowing you love this fills me with joy and courage to explore.

      Thank you for the wonderful feedback 🙂

    1. Hello Sky. The theme was nothing personal, rather I was experimenting with dark poetry which had a ring of confession to it. Glad you considered it a powerfully penned piece. Thanks for being such a nice and caring friend 😉

    1. It’s good to see you, Jen! Glad you found this beautifully penned. Well, I was exploring dark poetry (which, in truth, isn’t rosy). Nothing personal.

    1. Aw, rest your worries, Ronnie. I’m feeling OK. The poem was a dip into dark poetry.

      Many thank for reading and expressing concern. You’re a good friend.

    1. Hehe 🙂 If I were feeling so down and depressed, I know I can write you. I’m confident you’ll have words of encouragement for me. Glad you considered this poem so strong and real. I’m really honoured.

  5. A writer always needs to test their mettle. There’s a sense, this poem has a brother, one far, much further caught beyond the thin veil, where the blood rusts acid etched upon wood, and stone beneath the darkness, the shadows long, bleeding between the rifts, caught tangential upon the mind, not glancing, but collision, lifting ones head in the dark rain, to ponder what befell him, what lead him beyond the reach of his brother, waiting, not to forget.

    Love it when a poem gets one thinking, is there more, what of the story either side of the beginning, and the end… Why is my mind is wanting to fathom such questions, where will it take me… Awesome writing, Uzoma, dark and all..

    1. Haha–I’ve not thought of the poem from the first perspective you made. It’s quite a wholesome thought, Sean. You are indeed a writer and that’s why the piece availed you with a couple of interesting ideas. Then comes the second, which of course, prompted me to write the poem. Your comment on this is spot on and interesting to read.

  6. ‘…to cast upon your white doors
    the reflection of a battered soul
    In need of the grave,
    I dare to close
    these misted eyes…’

    Very nice! You should post more of your poetry. I’m sure it is excellent.

  7. Simply stunning. You are reeling on the floor with laughter that disguises the pain blossoming forth as a shadow on the door of your heart. Funny how a mere exercise in poetry can reveal such depth of soul.

    1. Oh yes! The simple activity we sometimes engage in can be haunting at times. I was watching a horror movie set in the 90’s where I saw a human head which rolled on the floor with laughter only to say seconds later: “Why do you still run?” 😦

      Thanks for the wonderful comment. You’re a jolly good friend.

  8. Wow! This is beautiful, I’m curious though, what inspired this powerful rendition? It’s a poem I can use in a book, I’ll ask for your permission of course and credit you as the source! I’m proud of you my brother…
    🙂

    1. I wanted to experiment writing dark poetry. Life as we all know is all that rosy so a journey into the dark side brought about this. It was kind of tricky but I’m thankful your comment shows that I did quite a good job injecting the right emotion.

      About using the poem…Of course, sis! It will be a big honour.
      .

    1. Beautifully said: “The hope that was abandoned must be found.” — pain and hopelessness has a way of taking away one’s happiness.

Your thoughts matter

