One Week, One Proverb #25

Woman carrying baby (pic source:  posterlounge.co.uk)
Woman carrying her baby (pic source: posterlounge.co.uk)

Case 25:

The child being carried on the back doesn’t know that the trek is long.

 

Insight/Background Story:

Pushing back the chair, my rich boss’ errant son shoots up to his feet. I suspect he doesn’t like what I’ve just said. Urging him to get a grip on himself doesn’t help either. He wears the tight expression of an angry bulldog as he hunches over my desk. “Who the heck are you to get in my way? Now listen carefully: tell those riff-raff at the reception to release the keys to that suite or else consider yourselves fired!”

A small chuckle escapes my lips. I remind myself that I’ve my orders not to let him or any of his friends lodge at the hotel again. Not even for an hour. Reclining on the softness of my leather chair, I diplomatically tell him that I can only let him in if I get a confirmation from his father.

He further threatens me.

Silence is his reward.

Still annoyed and perhaps frustrated too, he turns around and leaves, banging the door behind him.

 

Interpretation/Conclusion:

Someone once said,  “Life is like a prism; what you see depends on which side you are looking at.” That we enjoy certain privileges does not call for a slap-happy approach to life. Have you ever wondered how hard life is for the very unfortunate ones among us? I mean those who have no hope of when/where their next meal will come from? Those who move from one point to the other looking for a safe spot to rest at night just because they are socially unacceptable?

Being privileged is a blessing and should by no means be considered as a right.

**Um, this is my 100th post! What a privilege! LOL**

64 thoughts on “One Week, One Proverb #25

  1. First, CONGRATS on your 100th post, Uzoma! No small feat. And, I LOVE when you post your wise musings inspired by these new to me proverbs. Your generous heart shines through. Cheers, my friend! p.s. Also love this magical photo….

    1. I’m very grateful to you, Sirena. I know I am not a regular blogger, so reaching this mark makes me super happy.

      Wisdom, my people say, comes from showing interest in how a good life should be lived.

      Oh, and I loooove the pic too! The b&W is awesome!

    1. Haha. That’s the beauty of blogging — getting to make new friends with people from across the globe. And you, too, are one of my favorite bloggers. I am assured of a smile, a laugh, or a chuckle when reading your blog update.

  2. Hey Uzoma,
    I do want to say that I’m tripped at the way you found a way to make proverbs relevant in our lives again. We seem to have almost lost the culture of it. Thank you for this.

    And for finding the time to cheer me on , on my blog.

    Congratulations on your 100th post. Keep churning out those encouraging proverbs and lovely short stories.

    1. Aw, Funmi, that’s very nice of you to say! No doubt, proverbs are rarely used in discussions nowadays. But I value them as much as I value a good meal.

      You’re very gifted, my good friend, so it’s only natural that I’m attracted to your blog every time you post. I’m very keen on getting my own copy of your novel once it is out.

      Again, thanks for all the support and heartwarming comments. I’m privileged to call you my friend.

  3. Wow!!! Congratulations on your 100th posts, it calls for a celebration!! I hope you’re relax and enjoy this weekend, it’s indeed a great milestone! As for your boss’s spoilt son, life knows how to deal with such miscreants of society. Except he changes his outlook to life, life could change his outlook permanently! This is a great post to ponder on, thanks for sharing dear brother!
    Much love. 🙂

    1. Very true, my dear sis. Nothing lasts forever. Being rich today doesn’t mean it will be rosy all the way. That’s what the young man failed to understand.

      Thank you so much for the congratulatory remark 🙂 The celebration began last night.

  4. Some never put their feet to ground to walk their own directions (for but at least a while), they but linger on the scent of inheritance, within their own sense of false ownership when it is not theirs to own. Super enjoyed this one, Uzoma 🙂 and congrats on the Centenary of Posts!

    1. Love, love, love your input on this one! Riches are not permanent. But a head full of wisdom can acquire it (if the conditions are favorable) even when it is lost.

      Thanks for the congratulatory wishes.

  5. Congratulations on your century! The post: well! well! I hope the young man understands the responsibilities that come with privileges. Good work Uzoma! Keep going, my friend!

    1. Thanks a million, MJ. I’m pretty much excited!

      My boss told me that he wanted his son to realize that their wealth didn’t “fall from the sky.” Putting a lid on the young man’s excesses is a step in the right direction.

  6. Wonderful proverb and I love how you linked your story to it, Uzo. I think that many people see their privileges as rights, not just the spoiled children of the wealthy.
    Congrats on the 100th post!

  7. Hello Uzo,

    Congratulations on your 100th post 🙂

    Yes, we all face challenges. The obvious challenge is deprivation of basic needs and this takes main stage. But others – more privileged – also face challenges. Their challenge is how to manage power and privilege. The problem is, most don’t view these as challenges. Therein lies the challenge.

    Peace,
    Eric

    1. You’ve the heart of a sage, Eric. Being human entails we all have to encounter challenges. I agree with it you that the more privileged ones among us have issue with managing power. It is easier for those outside their realms to see this rather than they themselves. Love how you wrapped it up…

      Peace to you, my good friend.

  8. the way you interpret and present the incidents of life into a tale is interesting but the perspective that you express and show is wise and beautiful.One who realizes the depth of compassion can understand the meaning behind every action and reaction. Congrats on your 100th Uzo! Iam glad to be back to read your wise words.

    1. Hello Soumyav! Thank you so much for coming around and for finding this post insightful and beautiful. As always, your words reach out to me in a tremendous way.

  9. Congrats my friend!

    This amazing journey to reach this milestone has brought forth such a wonderful outpouring of love. I’m just going to add my drop in this love brew. Uzoma, your heart is open and wise my dear friend. I hope life will always treat it and you as well as you have treated others.

    I agree with Eric “Mo Money Mo Problems” Notorious B.I.G

    1. Haha. Never knew you listen to Notorious B.I.G! Love the rapper.

      Thanks for the congratulatory remark. It was a good thing for me. I hope to drop by and read latest your blogs this weekend. Things have been pretty rough for me lately..

    1. Aw, may His blessings continue to come your way. I also do the same each day via prayers. Thanks for the congratulatory remark, Barbara. You definitely will get there and surpass it someday.

Your thoughts matter

